Iconica - Gameplay FAQ

This page contains answers to some of the questions I've received on Iconica's gameplay. If you have a question not addressed in the current rules or on this FAQ page, please contact me.

Status Effects

Can I stack multiple instances of a status effect on my opponent?

In general, no. The idea is that you are removing the current instance of a status effect and replacing it with the one being called for by the action you are taking. However, some characters possess actions that DO apply multiple instances of a status effect. Remember to follow the action as it reads on the character card. (An example of this would be the Black Door Shrieve's #6 action, which deals Stun to a character for two turns.)

Loss of Turn

If I have a character that is affected by a single turn status effect, (Stun, Confusion or Blind) and I lose my turn, can I still remove the status effect for the turn I lost?

No. Loss of a turn impacts everything associated with taking your turn, except Final Acts (see next question). This includes things such as taking action rolls and removing status effects.

When I lose my turn, can I still take my Action Roll?

No. Loss of turn means you do not take an Action Roll. (There may be times, such as due to the effects of a status, you may not be able to act against your opponent. You would still take a turn to attempt an Action Break, remove status, etc.)

How does losing a turn effect a character that was "Skulled" (landed on Skull tile) on that turn?

Final Acts are not lost due to loss of turn. Players may still attempt their Final Act. However, all other phases of a turn are forfeit due to loss of turn.

The Skull Tile

When the damage marker reaches the Skull tile, are all of a characters status effects, auras, and other conditions removed?

Yes. The character is technically eliminated. If a successful Final Act restores a characters health, it remains in play with no negative or positive effects applied to it.


What is the difference between an action that reads: "Your character avoids all Ranged actions" and one that says: "Avoids all Ranged damage"?

The phrase "Ranged actions" refers to the type of action. The phrase "Ranged damage" refers only to any damage that may result from that type of action. (This applies to ALL action types, not just Ranged.)

What if two actions seem to conflict with each other?

For example: an action says: "All damage on the next turn is avoided." On the next turn, the action taken by an opposing character says: "This damage cannot be avoided."

The most recent action taken has precedence. In the example above, the most recent action states: "This damage cannot be avoided." This would overrule the previous action that avoided damage.